P3 Activity: Photography

ChristyWilliams-05-Outside
Light 1 – Outdoor

It is amazing how natural lighting can add to the quality of a picture. This picture was taken around noon outside the Rexburg Temple. I love the clouds in the background and how bright the sky is.

I wanted to align the temple in a way that allowed for as much of the temple to be in the picture as possible. It is slightly off center but I believe that makes the temple stand out and give the picture some depth. I tried to align the bottom third line with the entrance.

ChristyWilliams-05-Indoor
Light 2 – Indoor

I believe this picture is good to showcase indoor lighting because of the way the lights showed from the back of the picture and adds dimension. It is center aligned which is something that can be over used. The eyes are aligned on the top thirds line. I wanted this picture to symbolize inner strength which I feel was captured because of the lighting.

ChristyWilliams-05-Foreground
Focus 1 – Foreground

My friend has decided to teach himself how to play the ukulele so I decided to take a picture of it! The lighting outside was helpful in adding a little bit of a glare off the wood to give it some style. The focus is on the ukulele and not the outside bushes and car.

ChristyWilliams-05-Background
Focus 2 – Background

While trying to focus on the background I think it made my ukulele look a little dark but I like how the sun is setting and the light is getting low.

ChristyWilliams-05-rule of thirds
Composition 1 – Rule of Thirds

Everyone loves going to Devotional on Tuesdays at the I-Center on the BYU-Idaho campus. The unique design of the building provided an excellent environment for my rule of thirds photo. Most of the people are along the bottom thirds line which guides your eye to look towards the speaker on the far right.

ChristyWilliams-05-Leadspace
Composition 2 – Lead Room

The lighting is as good in the picture as I would like it to be but there is ample space in front of the man for lead room. He is standing on the far left vertical thirds line while the wooden beam on the wall lays on the bottom horizontal thirds line.

 

 

Leave a comment